The role of the Transport and Infrastructure Business Group is to act in a formal advisory capacity to the LEP Board on all relevant transport and other infrastructure matters. The group works with key national, regional and local transport bodies including the Department for Transport, Highways England, Network Rail, HS2 Ltd and Midlands Connect, to ensure that transport infrastructure and services are being planned and delivered to support the growth and prosperity of the Coventry and Warwickshire area. The group also considers wider infrastructure needs around issues such as broadband and power and works closely with the Planning Business Group to ensure a joined-up approach is taken on matters of mutual importance.


  • Assist the identification and development of a pipeline of infrastructure projects with a balanced mix of large scale ‘flagship’ and small/medium sized schemes which support the needs of the area.
  • Provide timely and appropriate input to future reviews of the LEP Strategic Economic Plan and other sub-regional initiatives, including the development of a Single Spatial Strategy for Coventry and Warwickshire.
  • Lobby strategic transport and infrastructure bodies such as DfT, Highways England, Network Rail and Midlands Connect in order to influence their future investment decisions through an evidence-led approach.
  • Ensure coordination on transport and wider infrastructure matters is carried out with neighbouring LEPs and Local Authorities, including the development of Statements of Common Ground on issues of mutual interest (e.g. A5, A46, North-South Rail, Ox-Cam Corridor/East-West Rail etc.).


Adam Dent, Advent Communications

Adrian Hart, Warwickshire County Council

Andrew Page, Transport for West Midlands

Barbara King, Department for Transport

Bill Blincoe, CWLEP

Councillor Jeff Clarke, Warwickshire County Council

Councillor David Welsh, Coventry City Council

David Ayton-Hill, Warwickshire County Council

David Jones, Cross Country Trains

David Tucker, David Tucker Associates/Federation of Small Businesses

Iain Patrick, CWLEP

James Breckon, Warwick University

John Seddon, Coventry City Council

Kate Hughes, CWLEP

Kirsty Sharp, Warwickshire County Council (Minutes)

Mark Ryder, Warwickshire County Council (Chair)

Mike Waters, TfWM

Parvez Islam, Warwick University

Richard Timothy, Highways England

Ryan Merriman, Advent Communications

Sarah Spink, Midlands Connect

William Knighton, Chiltern Railways


Wednesday, July 1, 2020 - 13:59

The biggest piece of infrastructure in the Coventry Station Masterplan is underway to signify a major milestone in the £82 million project.

Wednesday, June 17, 2020 - 09:05

Mayor of the West Midlands Andy Street and Birmingham Airport chief executive Nick Barton have called on the Government to ease quarantine restrictions on travellers arriving from abroad over fears

Tuesday, June 16, 2020 - 07:40

Vivarail Limited, designers and manufacturers of modular trains, has secured a £1.5m loan from the Midlands Engine Investment Fund Debt Finance, managed by Maven Capital Partners.

Friday, May 29, 2020 - 08:14

Peak time restrictions on concessionary tram, train and bus passes are to be reinstated from Monday, 1st June to provide more space for people returning to work and school as lockdown restrictions

Thursday, May 28, 2020 - 15:27

SMEs in Coventry and Warwickshire can find out about how they can access upcoming contracts connected with HS2 at the first free webinar organised by a new business website.

Thursday, May 28, 2020 - 14:31

A Warwickshire coach operator is helping to restart the local economy by devising a new service to get the region’s workforce safely back in operation. 

Wednesday, May 27, 2020 - 09:51

There was a small but bright light at the end of a long tunnel for our district this week, with the announcement of major funding to support hosting the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games in Royal

Thursday, May 21, 2020 - 15:28

HS2 could be the boost the regional economy needs on the back of the Covid-19 outbreak, a Coventry and Warwickshire business audience has been told.

Monday, May 18, 2020 - 08:43
Wednesday, May 6, 2020 - 10:00

A Coventry-based manufacturer responsible for producing all electric black taxis - ‘Hackney Carriages’ - approved by Transport for London has secured a £1.25m loan.

Meeting Dates 2020

In these unprecedented times, to focus our work on the immediate support of our business community and to minimise the spread of Coronavirus, adhering to the Government guidelines, CWLEP Business Group meetings are largely being suspended.

The next scheduled meeting of the Transport and Infrastructure Business Group is on Friday 15th May. As the current situation is very fast-moving, this will be kept under review and members will be notified of any change to this schedule in advance.

  • 24th January 2020
  • 27th March 2020
  • 15th May 2020
  • 3rd July 2020
  • 25th September 2020
  • 27th November 2020
  • 29th January 2021

All meetings are from 10:00am – 12:00pm at The Old Clink, The Holloway, Warwick.