TfWM’s Future Mobility expert nominated for national award

Monday 3rd of June 2019 11:09 AM

Mike Waters, director of policy, strategy and innovation at Transport for West Midlands (TfWM), has been nominated for a national award for his role in the £20m Future Mobility project.

Mike has been shortlisted for the Future Mobility Champion of the Year award at the Transportation as a Service (TaaS) Technology Awards 2019 – which will be decided on July 9 at an event at the International Conference Centre in Birmingham.

TfWM, part of the West Midlands Combined Authority (WMCA), unlocked funding from central Government to trial a range of new mobility pilots aimed at improving congestion, air quality and journeys in the region.

Mike has been involved in scoping out how TfWM will meet the challenges agreed with Government as part of the funding deal: including making improvements to Swift cards, organising a connected and autonomous vehicle showcase, and overseeing the Mobility Credits trial in Coventry.

The mobility credits trial generated international headlines when it was unveiled in March 2019 – with much of the conversation focussed on the idea drivers could be encouraged to completely ditch their private vehicles and use public transport, electric vehicle hire and shared taxis instead.

Laura Shoaf, managing director of TfWM, said: “I’m very proud of Mike, and delighted he has been shortlisted for the Future Mobility Champion of the Year at the Transport as a Service Technology Awards 2019.

“Mike has been a key figure in our innovative approach to the Future Mobility programme, and has the led the way in helping to set out how the pilots will work in practice, which has been a very complex piece of work involving many different organisations.

“He is an expert in many of the strands which make up the Future Mobility agenda – such as connected and autonomous vehicles – and has provided sage advice and undimming enthusiasm as we move forwards with the project.”

The awards will highlight key industry achievements in advancing connected and autonomous vehicles, electric vehicles, energy and battery technology, charging points and infrastructure, and the Future Mobility agenda itself.  

Voting is now open for the TaaS Technology Awards. To vote for Mike, visit